Databases

Beginning early July 2020, all SWAN libraries have access to a standard set of EBSCO databases for research, homework help, and more.

Databases Included

Academic Search Premier

Full-text articles to support research in science, engineering, physics, technology, religion, and philosophy. Includes access to video from the Associated Press (AP).

Auto Repair Source

Offers a wealth of information to help you diagnose, repair, and maintain cars and vehicles. Includes service and repair procedures, diagrams, recall information, specifications, labor estimates, and parts pricing.

Business Source Premier

Full-text articles to support research in accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, and operations management. Includes access to video from the Associated Press (AP).

Consumer Health Complete

Full-text articles to support research in aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition. Includes teen health topics for teens and parents.

Consumer Reports

Buying advice, product ratings, reviews, recommendations, money-saving advice and tips, and videos for products including appliances, electronics, food, and more.

History Reference Center

Full-text articles to support research in history and genealogy and lesson plans to support student learning.

Literary Reference Center

Novels, short stories, poems, plot summaries and synopses, and literary criticism. Research guides, lesson plans, and citation tools support student learning.

MasterFILE Premier

A good place to start for research and homework. Includes full-text articles, reference books, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags.

Middle Search Plus

Resources to support middle school students, including biographies, magazines, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags. Includes Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more. Articles include reading level indicators (Lexile).

NoveList K-8 Plus

Reading recommendations for kids' fiction and nonfiction that you can search by Lexile, subject, and grade level.

NoveList Plus

A popular and extensive tool for reading recommendations for fiction and non-fiction. Includes audiobook recommendations.

Points of View Reference Center

Resources for students to understand issues, develop criticial thinking skills, and develop persuasive arguments. Includes essays, overviews, articles, and transcripts on, citizens' rights, earth and environmental issues, global issues, health and medicine, and media and communications.

Primary Search

Resources to support elementary school students, including encyclopedias specifically for kids, articles from children's magazines including Highlights and Junior Scholastic, and a large image collection.

Science Reference Center

Full-text articles to support research in applied sciences, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, and energy. Includes the Science Image Collection, a database of high-quality science images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA, and Nature Picture Library.